Mess-ecipe Success: Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeño Chicken

Leave a comment

20120704-141249.jpg

At a loss on what to make for dinner last night, ya know, since I crave nothing but McFlurries at the moment… Hubbs wanted buffalo chicken something. Ok….. Here is what I came up with.

I love jalapeño stuffed with cream cheese wrapped in bacon so it was my inspiration.

In a bowl, I mixed half a block of cream cheese with two chopped jalapeños, a handful of shredded cheddar, salt and pepper.

I had boneless, skinless chicken thighs on hand. My idea was to stuff the chicken with the cream cheese mixture, coat in hot sauce and wrap with bacon.

I preheated oven to 400 degrees and got my iron skillet hot.

I wanted hot sauce to be thicker so I mixed franks buffalo wing sauce (3 – 4 tbsp) with some mayo (maybe like 2 tbsp) in a small bowl.

In a shallow dish, I put about 1/2 cup of the GF Bisquick baking mix.

So the assembly went as follows:

1 tbsp cream cheese mixture on yucky side of chicken thigh
Roll chicken thigh and secure edges together with a toothpick
Dip cream cheese stuffed chicken thigh roll in buffalo wing sauce
Dredge in GF baking mix
Wrap with a strip of bacon
It’s a messy process but I went with it

Add a tbsp oil (evoo) to iron skillet.

Add chicken rolls to hot skillet, and cook for a minute or two each side just to get bacon going. I do not like chewy bacon. I only did like 3 rolls at a time.

Place half-cooked chicken rolls on baking sheet and bake in oven until bacon is cooked and cheese is bubbling out… 15-20mins. Check chicken for doneness before eating!!!!!!

Everyone loved these. As in Hubbs had to limit himself and stop himself from eating them all… As in Hubbs just requested them for dinner again tonight.

Leave a Reply

