Chicken Bacon Subs (Freezer Friendly)

Leave a comment

20120703-191645.jpg

I came across the recipe I adapted this from in a blog… And as soon as I can remember which it was, I will post it!

Being that I was sure I’d be able to have my baby this week (so far it’s not looking too promising), I wanted to have some meals made ahead in the freezer so feeding the kids would be easy for Hubbs or whoever was here helping out. Searching for something other then your typical casserole, I came across this idea.

I had grabbed a couple of whole chickens to roast. They were like $5-$6… You can get a ready made rotisserie chicken for the same price (may not be as big). As soon as I got home, I started roasting.

20120703-193458.jpg
Pampered Chef Ultimate Roasted Garlic Chicken

20120703-193723.jpg
Once chicken cooled, I pulled meat from the bone and put in frig for later.

To assemble chicken bacon subs (these are not GF but could be if you had GF bread):

Cut large French loaf lengthwise.
Place bread on a large sheet of aluminum foil.
Original recipe calls to spread garlic butter on bottom half. I didn’t feel up to making the garlic butter so I spread butter on bread, and sprinkled with granulated garlic powder and dried parsley. Still yum.
Spread shredded/chopped roasted chicken on top of buttered bottom half of loaf.
Top with shredded Parmesan cheese.
Top with sliced mozzarella.
Sprinkle with crumbled bacon. I had some I reserved from breakfast on Sunday.
Place top half of bread over cheese.
Wrap in foil.

To serve right away, bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

For later? Freeze. To serve, bake 50-70 minutes from frozen or 25-30 minutes if thawed. Label and write instructions on foil with sharpie for your cooking challenged spouse. 😉

Since I am not in the hospital, I served these right away. They were a hit. Even Wildman raved about how much he liked it and I can’t even get him to eat a chicken quesadilla from Chipolte!

Leave a Reply

