Meatloaf and Mashed Potatoes – gluten free

Leave a comment

20120601-190126.jpg

Honestly, I never attempted meatloaf until recently. I grew up on meatloaf that I despised and I guess it turned me off of it. I wasn’t a huge red meat fan when I was a kid and onions made me gag. My mom’s meatloaf was comprised of your standard ground chuck and tons of onions. Dad loves onions. Now, I enjoy onions and quality red meat. I know I have said this before, but funny how our tastes and preferences change as we get older.

I tried this recipe for the first time a couple months ago. For the most part, it got good reviews. Hubbs thought it was about this best meatloaf he’d ever had but felt it could have used a little more salt “or something” and he didn’t care for the ketchup sauce. I can work with that!

Pioneer Woman’s Meatloaf

So, this time, I made a few adjustments.

Meatloaf:

#1 – Subbed white bread for slices of gluten-free tapioca loaf.

#2 – Instead of 2lbs of ground beef, I used 1lb lean ground turkey and 1lbs 90/10 ground beef.

#3 – Throw an extra pinch or two of salt in the meatloaf mix.

#4 – I used center-cut bacon. It’s yummy. You may have to stretch slices a little to get them to wrap around the loaf and tuck under.

Ketchup Sauce:

#1 – Add a splash of the pickling liquid from a jar of pickled jalapeños to the ketchup sauce mixture … Probably like a tablespoon.

I had this on the weekly menu with intention that it would last for two dinners. Hubbs made his comments about how much meatloaf it was… Was I feeding an army????

20120601-193017.jpg

Not kidding, they ate so much of it, I have revise my meal plan for tomorrow. So we will not be having meatloaf sandwiches… I am thinking we will do breakfast for dinner. Hey, I am stoked for the little bit of leftovers I am going to have all to myself for lunch tomorrow.

Oh, I used PW’s mashed potato recipe too… I subbed a big a sweet potato for a potato or two… Yum!!!

Pioneer Woman’s Creamy, Mashed Potatoes

Leave a Reply

