Potatoes Make My Belly Happy

2 Comments

My belly is a work in progress. I have been to a number of different doctors over the years, and none of them can come to a conclusion. One doctor said I have Celiac based on my blood test, then he tells me he’s not sure, and to swallow the medicine in an inhaler (at which point I decided he was out of his damn mind and left hopeless). Another said he thinks I have IBS.

I have really given up on getting an actual official diagnosis from an actual doctor. My belly hurt every day, all day. I was beyond exhausted all the time. I would describe this level of fatigue like all the blood was being sucked from my body. I felt so tired, it was laborious to just breathe. And I could not lose weight to save my whole entire life (maintaining an extra 40/50lbs over what is healthy for me is an issue too). I have been battling these problems for like over 10 years.

It was the day after my daughters 2nd birthday party … February 13th.

20120520-104336.jpg
(had to throw a pic in of her royal cuteness.)

I sat down to have breakfast of bread and butter, leftover from her party. Not even 5 minutes after eating, I thought I was going to die. The fatigue was so bad, I decided at that moment, I was cutting gluten. If I felt better, great! If not, I do not know… Probably back to the doctors to try again. This is not normal!

It was hard… There is wheat in a lot of food! Particularly, processed food. I no longer felt sick after eating. I mean I felt better. Like actually felt better. I am now 34 weeks pregnant and have only gained one pound. I know it’s because of cutting gluten. It’s like my body is thanking me or something.

I also had an awful habit of drinking diet coke. Coffee triggers my gag reflex, so my pick-me-up is diet coke. I happen to love it, especially from the fountain. Maybe it’s the bubbles? I have no idea. I REPEATEDLY asked the doctors of the diet coke could also be upsetting my stomach. Every single time, they would tell me No! Soda won’t upset your stomach. I am not convinced. I just recently finally stopped drinking it completely. It was a lot to consider quitting gluten and diet coke at the same time. I had to work up to it. I will make tea when I want something other then water.

Still sometimes my belly will hurt… Usually in the morning. Maybe I ate something that had gluten and I didn’t realize it. Or maybe my tummy is just not settled in the morning. I can remember since I was a little kid having stomach pain in the morning. When I used to work on the horse farm years and years ago, if I got up before 5am, I would end up puking. Like the bile in my stomach too much in the mornings or something? Who knows. I gave up on the doctors remember?!??

So I have found that eating potato instantly calm my belly. Maybe it’s the starch soaking up some of that yuckiness? Especially like a baked potato or I like to make a little hash browns in my cast iron skillet. Sweet potato works too.

20120520-110438.jpg

This morning, I put a couple potatoes on a paper plate. Draped them in a soaking wet paper towel and cooked on high for like 5 minutes. I checked one of taters in the middle for fineness by sticking it with a fork… It gave me a little resistance so I put them back in for a minute and half. While that was going on, I got my skillet hot. I chopped a large shallot, like 4 small cloves of garlic, and half a jalapeño. I am like coconut oil right now. (makes the house smell like the beach) put a spoon full of oil and a like half teaspoon of butter (I love real butter). Once potatoes were done, I used a fork and knife and sliced them. They are hot. I didn’t feel like burning my fingers. I through shallots, garlic, jalapeño in to soften maybe like a minute or two. Then added potatoes. Turn the pan up high. Mix it all together then smush potatoes down into a one layer – oh an add salt and pepper! Let brown and get crispy. Flip and lite other side get crispy. Yum.

Hash browns are not complete without

20120520-111419.jpg

🙂

Now, it’s time for me to heal my belly.

20120520-111526.jpg

Instantly soothed.

2 thoughts on “Potatoes Make My Belly Happy

  1. Gluten/Celiac tests are consistently unreliable, I was in the same position, still don’t know for sure if I have Celiac or not, but the end result is all the same – I don’t eat gluten. It did feel difficult in the beginning, but now I feel like I can lead a normal life, enjoy outings and even travel. I rarely cook something extra for my son who is not GF, most of the time he doesn’t even realize there’s no wheat 🙂

Leave a Reply

