Happy Mother’s Day

Leave a comment

Happy Mother’s Day!

For me, Mother’s Day is usually just another day. I feel the same way about Valentines Day and my birthday. I know what an awful thing to say, right? We might go out to dinner, but other then that, it’s business as usual. There’s no flowers or chocolates or presents or breakfast in bed.

Just moments ago, I found myself having a self-pity party. I felt jealous that I couldn’t lay around all day in the beautiful sunshine, drinking cocktails. Kids needed to be fed, things picked up, dogs taken care of. Plus, I am 33 weeks pregnant so cocktails are out of the question… Maybe if I demanded more of a fuss?

And time to get real!!!

Right now, I am enjoying a couple moments of peace sitting on my front porch. Hubbs, Boss, and Cakes are all passed out. Wildman is playing with the neighbor kids. Just sitting here listening to all the birds and the kids laughing… And thinking.

What more could a Mom ask for? (well, I could certainly think of a couple things haha). But for real, so I don’t get fussed over or waited on for Mothers Day. I do know that my family does appreciate me. I need to be thankful for all that I have… My hard-working, loving, and loyal Hubbs, my beautiful healthy children, food in our bellies, and a roof over our heads. We live in some of the most beautiful country here, I am thankful I can walk out into my yard and I am surrounded by trees and fields and luscious green grass. It wouldn’t be as enjoyable if I didn’t have my family (and my lovely extended family aka our neighbors 😉 to share it with. Really, I am the richest woman alive!

Being a Mom is hard work, there are no vacations (even if you are lucky enough to get a actual vacation – you still worry and miss your children). And when they get older, it doesn’t end. You worry and care for them and their children too! It’s part of the job description. It’s generally a self-less, thankless, and never-ending job.

I hope you enjoy your Mothers Day. If you don’t get fussed over (and I hope you do because it is kinda nice), I wish for you to at least get a couple peaceful moments today to enjoy some reflection and to be grateful for all your blessings.

Leave a Reply

