Gluten-Free Biscuits

Leave a comment

On Saturday morning, we had our typical weekend breakfast. We love breakfast. Love it. Eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns, biscuits… The works.

Since going GF, I have had to suffer through making biscuits for everyone and not getting to enjoy them. If I have them on hand, I will soften a corn tortilla and use it in place of what would be a biscuit. I am new to GF and still learning. So I picked up some GF baking mix on my last shopping trip.

20120508-121033.jpg

And I made a batch of GF biscuits!

20120508-121113.jpg
Well, clearly GF does not mean low fat!

The results.

20120508-121255.jpg

Again, they tend to have a more gritty texture then your normal flour biscuit but absolutely edible. And they were super easy to make. Maybe one of these days, I will get up the nerve to try to make these sort of GF foods from scratch.

How beautiful are my eggs, right? It has taken me a very long time to master the art of the perfect “dippy” egg as we call them.

I use cast iron skillets for everything I can. Key is to make sure your cast iron pan is well-seasoned. And not skimping on the butter helps! So heat your pan to med, melt a pat of butter, crack eggs directly into pan (if you are confident)… Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Now, using a glass lid, drizzle like a tsp or so of water into lid and cover pan to steam eggs. When the yolks start to get that white film, your about ready to remove them from heat. When you take them off? Well, that depends on how soft you like your yolks. Practice makes perfect though! Knowing when your pan is the perfect temp… And when your eggs are ready to go to plate. If you like breakfast like we do, then you will have plenty of opportunity to practice!

Leave a Reply

