Gluten-Free Green Chile Fried Chicken

Leave a comment

(Note:  It’s taken me 3 days to finish this post. Busy is an understatement right now!  I am ready to win the lotto and retire.  Then maybe I’d be bored… yeah, probably NOT!)

I recently found the confidence to fry chicken.   I never had it to lose it so I guess I didn’t actually “find” it… so I discovered it.  Whatever.  The discovery was made shortly after the purchase my oil/candy thermometer… It’s like essential for me for frying food correctly.  I highly recommend investing in one.

(I know my picture is kinda an oxymoron… GF fried chicken with mac and cheese on the side, that is not GF.  I can’t have gluten and the rest of the family can.  At least this way, I could have more then broccoli.)

Well, very first, I parboiled my chicken and let is cool a bit (this may not be appropriate or necessary but I am deathly afraid of killing my family with salmonella).  Then… First, I marinaded the chicken pieces.

  • quart of buttermilk
  • 4 ounce can diced green chile peppers
  • 2 tbsp snipped fresh cilantro or 1 tbsp dried cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 – 3 lbs cut up broiler-fryer chicken

In a bowl combine buttermilk, chile peppers, cilantro, lime juice, garlic, cumin, salt, and black pepper. Place chicken pieces in a bag and set in a shallow dish. Pour mixture over chicken; seal bag. Refrigerate overnight; turn bag occasionally.

Then I use PW’s Fried Chicken Recipe to bread them up and fry them off, EXCEPT I substituted the all-purpose flour for GLUTEN-FREE all-purpose flour.  Oh and I didn’t have enough buttermilk left over for mixing into the flour dredging mixture (to create those yummy fried bready chunks) so I used heavy cream… cause it’s what I had okay… I wasn’t purposely trying to make this more unhealthy.  However, it may have contributed to how flippin’ tasty the chicken turned out.

I didn’t tell the family I used gluten-free flour for fear it would turn them off before they even tried the chicken.  My oldest, Boss, says fried chicken isn’t his favorite.  Boss is also the kid who will eat anything I put in front of him whether he likes it or not, unlike my #2 son.  Wildman, #2, only likes food that is awful for him.  Boss, although he will eat what he doesn’t like, makes sure to tell me when something “isn’t his favorite”.  Well, they both devoured their chicken, then I got “Mom, this chicken is really good! Can we have more?”  And with that, triumph!  When I told Hubbs it the chicken was GF, he couldn’t believe it!

I couldn’t find a link for PW’s Fried Chicken recipe but since I have her cookbook, here’s the run-down…

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Begin to heat your oil; 1-1/2 to 2 inches (I admit, I usually use more like 3 inches in my dutch oven) of canola or vegetable oil in a large deep skillet or dutch oven.

In a large dish, combine:

(Tip: Use foil pans.  One for dredge, one for dredged chicken.  I always have those lovely foil deep pans on hand… I think like 9″ x 13″.  I buy them at the warehouse store in the catering isle.)

  • 5 cups all-purpose flour, (gluten-free if need be)
  • 3 tbsp seasoned salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper (more if you like it hot – 1 tsp was perfect for my family – not hot but flavorful)

After mixing all dry ingredients, mix 1/4 cup of buttermilk and 1/4 cup of milk together (or just use 1/2 cup of heavy cream like I did).  Add to flour mixture and cut in with fork or pastry cutter to make lovely little lumps all throughout the flour mixture.

Thoroughly coat each chicken-piece with the breading, pressing extra breading into the chicken.  Don’t skimp on what will be your crispy deliciousness.

Use your oil/candy to thermometer to insure your oil is at 365 degrees!!

Add chicken to the oil in batches, 3 or 4 pieces at a time.  Use tongs to move them around and make sure they are sticking to each other.  Cover pan and fry for 5 to 7 minutes.  Check them occasionally so your don’t burn your lovely fried chicken.  That would be such a shame!  Go another 3 to 5 minutes if they aren’t golden.  Use your thermometer to monitor the temperature of the oil so it stays the 365 degree range.  If your oil gets to hot, turn it down.  You want the chicken to be golden brown, not dark brown, because they are going to finish in the oven.  When chicken pieces have reached the desired golden brown color, place them on a baking sheet.  Once all your chicken is fried, bake chicken for 15 minutes to finish.  Please, check your chicken before eating or serving.

Important!!!  Cut into a bigger piece or two (or be like me, and check them all with my thermometer).  Juices should run clear and chicken should be that gray, brown color near the bone.  Pink or red is BAD.  Use a food thermometer, the internal temp of chicken should be 165 degrees.  Do not make your family sick, please.

It’s one of my things when I cook chicken … I worry.

Now that we are sure you won’t get food poisoning, enjoy your homemade fried chicken!!  Properly frying chicken will thrust you to rock star status in the kitchen… well, at least in a country kitchen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

