Steak Tacos… una parte

Leave a comment

First… before I get to the food… Let me introduce you to double trouble. 

Sunbathing together on the deck, plotting their shenanigans for the day.  Well, twice today, Cakes let Spike out.  She has learned to open the doors and unlock the deadbolt. Scary. Super Scary.

Imagine this… My big ole pregnant butt running down the road after that little turd dog while he has at least three brushes with death. Yeah, not sure what’s scarier… my fat ass pot belly running or the dog almost getting hit by a car.  Finally, a nice guy stopped his truck and got out to help.  And that brat dog jumped right into his arms.  My life.

And on to the TACOS.

I never used to be a fan of red meat… then I got pregnant.  Currently, I am obsessed with Steak Tacos.  Especially Steak Tacos from my favorite Mexican restaurant (El Azteca) and our local Qdoba.  I can marinate the steak and I can cook it the a perfect medium rare… but it’s just not the same.  What am I missing???

Tonight’s Attempt.  Tacos Al Carbon.  (Used a recipe from a Taste of Home Mexican Special Issue, I think)

Marinate 2 lbs Skirt Steak in 1/2 cup fresh squeezed lime juice, 1 tsp chili powder, 4 cloves garlic minced, 2 tbsp veggie oil, 1 tsp salt for 30 to 60 minutes.

Prep green onions for grill.  Trim ends and brush with vegatable oil.

Wrap tortillas in foil.  Put foiled tortillas and green onions on grills for 4 to 6 minutes.  Flip couple times through out.

Next grill the steak.  2-3 mins per side. 

While steak rests…

Cut up onions.

Cut up steak.  First in strips diagonal to grain, then into cubes.

Then play peek-a-boo with your 2 yr old, who happens to be chillin’ in a basket.

Then assemble the tacos.

Steak, green onions, pico de gallo, cilantro.  Side of mexican rice.

This recipe got good reviews in my house.  Hubbs had like 6, at least.  It’s just not like what I get at my restaurant.  I really love what I get at the restaurant.  I am on a mission.

Leave a Reply

