Steak Fajitas

Leave a comment

20111014-074646.jpg

INGREDIENTS
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 lb of flank steak, skirt streak – I actually had a pack of Ny strips in the freezer that I bought just because they were on sale and they were reaching their point in the freezer, so I thawed them in micro and started then in marinade at about 1pm for a 4pm dinner time – they were so tender and tasty!
1 large yellow onion, peeled and sliced with the grain, not against the grain as one would normally slice an onion. Slice first in half, and then slice off sections a half inch wide at widest point.
2-3 bell peppers of various colors, stemmed, seeded, de-ribbed, sliced lengthwise into strips
Salt

Marinade:
Juice of 1 lime
Juice of 1 orange
2 Tablespoons of olive oil
4 cloves garlic, peeled, minced
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 fresh Jalapeño pepper, seeded & ribs removed (if you want), finely chopped (use caution to not touch face/eyes – wash hands immediately and/or use a latex glove when handling)
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro, including stems (I used 3 of my cilantro “ice cubes” – ya know – chop up your fresh cilantro and freeze in an ice cube tray – love this trick!)

Directions:

1 Mix all marinade ingredients. Coat the steak with the marinade and let it sit at room temperature for an hour, or longer in the fridge. Before you cook the meat, wipe off most of the marinade and sprinkle the steak with salt.
*I have tried many times to make tender, melt in your mouth fajitas like in the restaurants and it’s always a fail. No matter what cut I use. This recipe was such a success, I am still in shock. While most recipes want you to cook the steak whole, let is rest, then slice, this time I sliced my steaks BEFORE cooking. I cut them into strips against the grain and then again in half.

2 Set a large cast iron pan or griddle over high heat and let this heat up for 1-2 minutes. Add the tablespoon of oil to the pan and let this heat up for 1 minute. Add the vegetables and dust with a little fajita seasoning. Once veggies start get soft, I moved them to one side of pan and began cooking steak in little batches. Literally, they cook up in like 60 seconds. Do not over cook! Spoon the steak out into a bowl to rest. Pay attention to your veggies, stirring them while cooking steak. Once veggies are cooked to YOUR desired doneness, add them to bowl of steak. If the pan starts to smoke too much, reduce the heat to medium-high.

3 Assemble your fajita bar! Warm flour tortillas in the micro for 30 sec to 1 min. Have chopped lettuce, tomatoes, guacamole, pico de gallo, shredded cheese, sour cream, salsa, hot sauce… Whatever you like on your fajitas! I like to put everything in small bowls for easy assembly of my fajitas.

4 ENJOY! The hubbs claimed this was one of his most favorite dinners I have ever made ;). Not bad for throwing together on the fly and dinner was ready under 30!

I think we could probably use this recipe as a freezer friendly meal but I haven’t tried yet. There weren’t any left overs ;). I will get them in again, probably next week and be sure to get some to the freezer. I will be updating this for sure!

Leave a Reply

