Spaghetti & Meatballs

Leave a comment

Seriously, this is the first time out of countless attempts I made a batch of Speghetti and Meatballs that EVERYONE LOVED! YEAH!! I did it, I did it! Whoop!speghetti and meatballs

Okay onto the recipe…

First of all, this recipe makes a double batch. Use half now, freeze half for later. Or freeze them all now for later. Just have these on hand!

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 6 to 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup freshly grated Parmesan or Romano cheese, whichever you like better. I like Parm, personally.
  • 3 or 4 tablespoons chopped Italian flat leaf parsley
  • 1 tsp salt or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper or to taste
  • 2 cups Italian bread crumbs
  • 1 1/2 + cups lukewarm water
  • 1 + cup olive oil

Directions

  1. Combine beef, turkey, and pork in a large bowl. Add garlic, eggs, cheese, parsley, salt and pepper.
  2. Blend bread crumbs into meat mixture. Slowly add the water 1/2 cup at a time. The mixture should be very moist but still hold its shape if rolled into meatballs. (you may not need all the water!). Shape into meatballs.
  3. Heat olive oil in a large skillet. Fry meatballs in batches. When the meatball is very brown and slightly crisp remove from the heat and drain on a paper towel. (If your mixture is too wet, cover the meatballs while they are cooking so that they hold their shape better.)
To freeze, let meatballs cool. Place them in a single layer on a baking sheet and freeze for 1 to 2 hours. Remove from freezer and place into ziploc freezer bags. Label and place back into freezer until ready to use.
To use frozen meatballs, I simply warm through in saucepan with sauce.
My most favorite sauce – the best jarred speghetti sauce I have ever had and what I used in this particular recipe is….. Bertolli Vineyard Premium Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce with Cabernet Sauvignon. OH MY GOODNESS. SO GOOD. Seriously.
For my family of 5, I used about 25 meatballs and added a jar of the goodness I mentioned above. I needed a little more sauce so I took a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic & oregano no salt added, pureed them until smooth and added to saucepan with about 1/2 cup of low sodium chicken broth. Best batch yet. I am getting better! And this meal took all of 15 minutes to pull together using the frozen meatballs. Also, I really like to use the fresh pasta I find prepackaged at my grocery store. I think the fresh pasta taste much better. To serve, I sprinkled with a little mozz because I was out of parm. I know, a felony. Still these are fabulous!
Leave a Reply

