Pear Chutney Chicken – Freezer Friendly!

Leave a comment

I found this recipe in a Taste of Home Freezer Meals Magazine… Looked  interesting and I thought I would give it a try.  3 out of 5 of the family loved it.  My 20-month old wasn’t a huge fan but I think the flavors are a little much for her yet.  My picky eater decided he didn’t like before he even had a bite so I don’t count him either!

I double this recipe.  Served half, froze half for another night.

Here is base recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 can (15-1/4 ounces) sliced pears
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breast halves (4 ounces each)
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup mango chutney
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3/4 to 1 teaspoon curry powder

Directions

  • Drain pears, reserving 1/4 cup juice; set pears and juice aside. Flatten chicken to 1/4-in. thickness. In a large resealable bag, combine flour and pepper. Add chicken in batches and shake to coat.
  • In a large skillet, cook chicken in oil over medium heat for 5-6 minutes on each side or until no longer pink. Remove and keep warm. (NOTE: if you have a picky eater too, you might want to keep a piece of the chicken plain – don’t add it back to pan as indicated in next step.)
  • In the same skillet, combine the onion, chutney, lemon juice, curry powder and reserved pear juice. Bring to a boil. Add chicken and pears. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 3-5 minutes or until heated through. Yield: 4 servings.

Nutrition Facts: 1 serving equals 395 calories, 9 g fat (2 g saturated fat), 63 mg cholesterol, 404 mg sodium, 51 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 24 g protein.

To use the frozen chicken, thaw in the frig overnight.  Cover and microwave on high for 8 to 10 minutes or until heated through, stirring once.

Also, I could not find Mango Chutney in my grocery store.  I made my own from this recipe:

Homemade Mango Chutney Recipe

  • Prep time: 15 minutes
  • Cook time: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 6 cups mangoes, if you have fresh, peel and cut into 3/4in.  Otherwise, go for the frozen.  I opted for the organic variety.  I still needed to cut the chucks up a bit more as they were rather large.
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 1/4 cup crystallized ginger, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 teaspoon mustard seeds, whole
  • 1/4 teaspoon red chili pepper flakes (hot)

METHOD

1 Combine sugar and vinegar in a 6 quart pot; bring to a boil, stirring until sugar dissolves.

2 Add remaining ingredients and simmer, uncovered, until syrupy and slightly thickened, 45 minutes to 1 hour. Stir occasionally during cooking.

*I don’t have the set-up for jarring so I used the Ball Freezer containers.  One of these days, I will figure the whole jarring thing out.

Leave a Reply

