Cheesy Italian Chicken

Leave a comment

This one got rave reviews from all members of my family… even my pickiest eater said it was the best dinner ever. I wouldn’t go that far but it was yummy.

Serves: 4 to 6

Ingredients:

6 to 8 boneless chicken breast (skinless boneless chicken breast halves pounded thin)

1/2 cup butter

4 to 6 cloves garlic, depending on how much you love garlic.  I love it.  I went with 6.  It worked out well.

3/4 cup bread crumbs.  I was out of regular bread crumbs.  Panko works fine too.

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella or cheddar.  I used mozz.

1/4 tsp parsley

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper

1/8 tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Combine bread crumbs, cheeses, herbs, salt and pepper in a shallow dish.  Melt butter in a skillet over med heat.  Add garlic and saute about 1 minute.  Turn off heat and remove skillet from heat.

Filet chicken breasts and place in a ziploc bag.  Pound breasts out.  Not ridiculously thin but so that they are of a relatively consistent width throughout the entire filet.

Using tongs, dip chicken breast into melted butter mixture, being sure to absolutely coat the breast.  Next, dredge the chicken breast into the bread crumb mixture.  I found that the mixture didn’t stink very well (probably because I used panko instead of bread crumbs – hay I had to improvise!) so I did my best, then put the breast on the baking sheet, and sprinkled the bread crumb mixture all over to sufficiently cover the breast. It worked.  My “panko” mixture created a very nice crusty exterior.

Once all chicken breasts are coated and on baking sheet, drizzle with remaining butter mixture.  Bake a 400 degrees for 30 mins or until internal temperature reaches 165 degrees.  (if you don’t have a meat thermometer, it’s a worthwhile investment!)

Leave a Reply

