Cold Caprese Dip

Leave a comment

I was craving this dip yesterday so I decided to make it as an app for Easter at my in-laws (love them!!!).

I had a version of this at a party at my neighbors and it was love at first bite. I think I am craving it because it’s Spring time, and my body is telling me it needs tomatoes.

I LOVE caprese salad. Tomatoes are one of those foods I have learned to like as I got older. I wouldn’t get within 10 ft of a tomato as a kid. There is something so refreshing about fresh tomato, fresh mozz, basil and a drizzle of evoo (and a little salt and pepper).

This dip is so easy and so yummy! I am not sure if it’s the same recipe my neighbor had but it has to be close.

Mix together in a bowl:
1 can (14.5 oz I think) fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes with basil, oregano, and garlic
1 tbsp (I like the extra light) extra virgin olive oil
Although I eat tomatoes now as an adult, I am little bit picky about them. I am not a fan of big chunks or chunks of tomato skin. So I took my hand blender to the mixture until it was just a little chunky but mostly smooth.
Add fresh ball of mozzarella, about 8ozn cut into small cubes.
Add gently chopped fresh basil. I used probably like 10-15 leaves.
Add salt and pepper to taste.

I served with pita chips but really I think you could just eat the dip with a spoon.

Leave a Reply

