Food Creation

Leave a comment

It boggles my mind that there are people that don’t know about something as essential to our being as food.  Specifically, where our food comes from.  What would be the first thing that came to mind if asked where your food comes from?  Would you name your local grocery store?  Or the plant or animal that ACTUALLY produced your food?  Or the farm where you purchased it?  I am hoping and praying that you actually have food in your home that came from a plant or animal and not from some factory where a mixture of unnatural processes and chemicals birthed it.

For instance, I had a parsley plant on my kitchen table.  A visitor to my home asked me what it was.  Parsley is one of the most recognizable herbs – at least to me.  I grow it in my gardens for culinary uses, and butterflies love it!  I tell her, “It’s flat-leaf parsley.”  She looks at me, puzzled.  “What?  Aren’t you suppose to dry it or something?”  NOW, I look at her puzzled.  I am thinking, “REALLY?  She has never used fresh parsley to cook with?”  In all seriousness, I really had no idea that fresh parsley wasn’t like a household staple – especially out here where we live – it’s pretty rural (we live out in the country).  You know what they say about people who assume.  I have heard stories of children, especially those who live in cities, who have never seen a cow.

I was watching foodtv – it’s one of my favorite channels.  And the worst cooks in American show was on.  One of the ladies comments on how she didn’t know the difference between a scallion or scallop… or even if she’d ever seen a scallop before.  Sitting there watching her, I am dumbfounded.  REALLY?  People are THIS disconnected from their food?  Seriously, right now I am feel like if there was a catastrophic event and food didn’t get delivered to the grocery stores, people who just start dropping off.  They would starve to death.

I keep chickens for fresh eggs.  I have had two people flat out reject my fresh eggs.  They only get their eggs from the grocery store.  For the life of me, I CANNOT understand this. I take good care of my chickens.  They get to roam my yard and they have fresh food and water.  The eggs in the grocery store come from abused chickens on factory farms.  Even the ones that claim to be range-free rarely are.  I think the USDA standards from range-free are 2 hours of caged outside time.  I don’t know their rules exactly, just that there are loop holes and NO substitution for KNOWING exactly where your eggs are coming from.  As in going to the farm and seeing it.  For someone to reject an egg from me that might be a day or two old, for grocery store eggs that could be as much as 4 months old and where their origin is unknown, is just completely confusing to me.

Well, back to the parsley!  It’s the middle of winter.  I miss my gardens.  I miss my fresh, local fruit, herb, and veggies.  I miss all the green!  I should have done it when the temperatures first started to plummeted, but I didn’t, and time got away from me.  Hindsight is 20/20.  I need some potted herbs for my window sills.  I found these adorable kits at Home Depot.  Obviously, you don’t need a kit to grow some herbs.  You just need sun, seeds, good soil, and a pot with decent drainage.  The kit was easy and cute.
Whatever.  Means to a way.

 

STEP 1:

Moistened Soil.

STEP 2:  Insert drainage liner into wooden planter.This seems like a pretty important step to me… I mean unless you like having dirt water everywhere.

STEP 3:  Organize plants.  On the back of the seed packets is information you need about the plant and how to grow it.  Based on the plant heights, I organize the plants so the tallest are in the middle pots.

STEP 4:  Start to fill pots.  Don’t use all the soil.  You will need some to soil to cover the seeds.

STEP 5:  Start sowing your seeds.  First, I am doing chives.  Here is what chive seeds and chives look like.

Chives is a herb which resembles hollow blades of grass, and the smallest member of the onion family. Chives have a mild onion flavor. Their distinctive smell and taste is derived from a volatile oil, rich in sulphur and common to the onion family, but milder and more subtle in chives. Referred to only in the plural, because they grow in clumps rather than alone. (food.com)Then I did cilantro, an herb with wide delicate lacy green leaves and a pungent flavor.  It is commonly used in Middle Eastern, Mediterranean, Indian, South Asian, Mexican, Latin American, Chinese, African and Southeast Asian cuisine. (food.com).

In my personal experience, people either LOVE cilantro or HATE cilantro.Next, I did parsley.  There are more than 30 varieties of parsley, but the most common are curly-leaf and the more pungent Italian or flat-leaf parsley. The flat-leaf has more flavor than curly parsley and is preferred for cooking, while dried parsley has little flavor at all. In ancient times parsley wreaths were used to ward off drunkenness. Chewing parsley will help with bad breath from food odors such as garlic. (Food.com)And, finally, I planted oregano.  Oregano is like marjoram, but more pungent and not as sweet. Because of its pungency, oregano requires a bit more caution in its use. Mediterranean oregano is milder than Mexican oregano. Oregano was almost unheard of in the U.S. until WW II soldiers returning from Italy raved about it. (food.com)

STEP 6:  Use leftover soil to lightly cover seeds.  

STEP 7:  Find a spot NOT in direct sunlight.  When plants sprout, they can be relocated to a spot with more direct sunlight.  

STEP 8:  Wait.  Keep soil moist but not drenched.  A little spray bottle is a nice way to achieve this.  You don’t want to drown your seeds and seedlings.

I will post pictures as they grow.

Day 2

 

 

Leave a Reply

