For the Love of

Leave a comment

Anyone who knows me, knows that I LOVE shrimp.  Like the first time I saw the Forrest Gump movie and Bubba was rattling of his nearly endless list of shrimp dishes, my mouth began watering.  I thought to myself, “I need to know Bubba so I can get his Momma to cook me every single one of those dishes and my life can be complete.”  I would like to eat shrimp every day.  Well, okay, I would like to alternate shrimp and crab every other day.

Joe asked me tonight, “What would you do if I didn’t like seafood?”  I told him I don’t think it would have worked out between us.

A BIG FYI about shrimp:  Most of the shrimp you buy at the grocery store or get in restaurants is farmed in countries in Asia and they are full of chemical, fertilizer, steriod, and antibiotic nastiness.  I am so lucky to have an awesome grocery store.  They always have EcoFish shrimp and occasionally wild caught shrimp.  When they have it, I stock up!  It’s worth every extra penny to me to prevent my family and I from ingesting those disgusting chemicals.  Not only are the shrimp poison but shrimp farming is destroying Asia’s environment.  Enough of that depressing stuff…

Butter. Cream. Garlic. Shrimp.  HEAVEN.

Giada de Laurentiis’s Nonna Luna’s Rice.

 

Toast rice with a half stick of butter for like 8 minutes.  Brown rice never smelled so good.

 

Add the chicken broth, hot sauce, and salt.

Simmer covered for 20-25 minutes until liquid is absorbed.  Let sit off heat for 5 min.  I used this 5 minutes to make the shrimp.

Half stick of butter and garlic.  Recipe calls for 1 clove.  I have a thing for garlic, sorta like how I love shrimp.  I used 1 large clove and 2 medium to small ones.  At this point, AJ came in and asked “when is dinner going to be ready because it smells really good.”   YUP.  “5 minutes.”

Add the peeled, tail-off, and DE-VEINED shrimp.  I don’t really feel like it’s a good idea to feed my family shrimp poo or whatever that nasty crap is running down the back of the shrimp.  Yuck.

Add one tablespoon of hot sauce.  (I added a couple more drops more because we like hot sauce).

The recipe calls for the juice from 2 to 3 lemons.  Well, my husband is weird.  Very weird.  He doesn’t like lemons!  Weirdo!!!  So because I love him, I started with some juice from half of a lemon.  I happen to like lemon.  I have learned that it’s better to use less lemon in the dish and add more to taste once plated.  This way everyone is usually happy.  The key to a happy marriage is compromise… I guess.  He’s still a weirdo.

Add one cup of heavy cream goodness.  By the way, this dish is not low-fat, just in case you hadn’t already picked up on that.

I burned my tongue because this looked and smelled so good I didn’t have the patience to wait for it to come down to an edible temperature.  Oh, and I sprinkled a little bit of shredded parm to top it off.  Can’t imagine a dish like this without parm.

BOOoooo!

so……

 

Yes.  I went there.  Bowl #2.  Don’t judge me.

 

Leave a Reply

