Round 3 (!!!)

Leave a comment

YES!  Round 3.  I just can’t bear going a year without making my own Thanksgiving dinner.  Obviously I decided to scale it down since it would only be us.  I am on a mission to figure out how to make an amazing turkey.  Also, I am really excited to use my new oven!

I started the turkey on Wednesday.   I cleaned it and put it in a brine using this mix I found.  

I put the contents into a gallon of water and boiled it until dissolved.  Then let it cool and added to the turkey, which I had waiting patiently in one of those huge oven bags.  Add more water until its completely covered.  This brine smelled absolutely A.MAZ.ING.  I mean my olfactory system was in overdrive.  In years past, my brine consisted of salt, sugar and maple syrup which worked fine.  This brine added so much more flavor, or depth of flavor to the turkey.  In the future, I could probably just put the brine together myself instead of buying it prepared.  Ingredients were Sea salt, brown sugar, cranberries, apples, garlic, orange peel, juniper berries, Malabar black peppercorns, thyme, rosemary, sage.  The brand is spice hunter and looks to be easy to find on the internet.

Turkey cooked perfectly in my new oven.  Love it!  I really (really) like Giada de Laurentiis’ Turkey with Herbes de Provence and Citrus. (link http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/turkey-with-herbes-de-provence-and-citrus-recipe/index.html)  A bird slathered in butter and herbs, stuffed with citrus.  YUM.  Very easy. Very flavorful and juicy.  No dry turkey here!  Although, Aunt Becky’s delish turkey was just as moist without any brine treatment.  Ummm.  I think I still believe in the brining.

Keeping is simple… I made stuffing from the box.  I know.  It’s just so easy.  And always a hit.  I did, however, make the potatoes from scratch.  I decided to go with another Giada recipe from the same cookbook as the turkey.  A baked mash potato casserole dish.  Simple. Cheesy.  Yummy.

Adam, who is the picky eater of the family, informed me that “this is the best dinner ever, Mom”.

I don’t know if it’s the best ever but I thought it was pretty good.  With all the disappointment generated from my side of the family this weekend, I cannot be more Thankful for my beautiful family and fantastic friends.

Leave a Reply

