Back to School

3 Comments

Adam started his new pre-school this week.  I cannot believe how emotional this was for me!  He attended a daycare/pre-school from 2 to 4 yrs old.  I took him out when I was getting ready to have Madelynn and felt it would be easier on me to just have him home.  Which it was.  Maybe having him with me so much is what made it so hard to let him go again…  I was also a bit nervous that he would hate it.  His new school is a private, catholic school which requires uniforms and rules.  Neither of which Adam is a fan of.  He loves to dress himself in the most mix-matched outfits he can find.  And rules, to Adam, are meant to be broken.  Needless to say, he did a beautiful job and was so excited to tell me about his day when I picked him up.  I admit, I cried like a baby when we dropped him off that morning.  He was so excited to go back on Tuesday that he was in my room getting dressed at 5:40am.  Adam is NOT a morning person and would sleep to 10am if I let him!  This all makes me very happy and that I have made the right choice for him.  I felt he needed a good, structured program to ready him for elementary school.  I am so happy to say that after just a couple days, I know that’s what he is going to get.

AJ started 1st grade this week!!!  UNBELIEVABLE!!  My little baby is in 1st grade?!?!?!  He such an independent, focused little guy.  He didn’t show any apprehension at all.  He was really excited.  When he got off the bus his first day, he told me he had THE BEST day!!  They got stars and marbles and awards and all kinds of good stuff.  He seems to really like his teacher.  And so far, I am happy as well.  She seems very efficient, orderly, and attentive.  She is young and kind.  All I want for my kids to have a better school experience than I did.  I think they are getting it.  I hope that this trend continues for their entire educational career… I know, that’s asking for an awful lot!

The boys also had their first scrimmage of their 2010 instructional football season this week.  This is AJ’s second year and Adam’s first year.  They played the Liganore Lancers.  I am so proud of them both!  AJ got his first big tackle.  I was so happy for him.  He’s been trying SO hard in practice and it finally paid off.  Adam did great.  He did NOT let those Lancers get him down.  At one point, they had him lined up against a kid who was twice (not kidding) his size.  He did the right thing… the kid pushed him to the side, and Adam let him!  I think I only saw him on the ground once!  When he first started practice, he spent probably 70% of his time on the ground.  Don’t be mislead, he was on the ground by choice.  He thinks its funny to fall down.  A number of times I caught him out on the field dancing around.  I know he’s having fun out there – even if there weren’t any cheerleaders there!

Although it has been a tough week emotionally and we are all very tired from the transition back to school, overall, it has been a good week.  I am so thankful for my amazing kids and husband and for being able to live in such a nice place.

3 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. Wow, I cannot believe it! My beautiful grandchildren, so grown up and polished looking, and what a cute duo of football players! And Maddie in her sunglasses, my friends and I here at work were roaring with amusement, just way too cute! Love, NaNa

Leave a Reply

