(Grilled) Island Chicken & Honey Citrus Glazed Carrots

Leave a comment

This is another meal I pulled from the Gluten-Free Mom site.   Her meal consisted of Grilled Island Chicken, Honey Citrus Glazed Carrots, and Sauteed Broccoli Rabe.

Last time I attempted to make broccoli rabe was about 5 years ago and it resulted in Boss barfing it up all over the kitchen floor.  My Boss man is such a little foodie… even as a toddler… he tries everything I put in front of him.  As us Mom’s usually end up doing, we serve kids and spouse before ourselves.  I followed a recipe and make the classic mistake of not trying the broccoli rabe before serving it.  Initially, I thought he was sick but he then told me it was the green stuff.  I tasted it and gagged.  AWFUL.  I felt so bad for Boss, apologized profusely, and threw it directly in the trash.  Maybe there is a super secret to cooking it to where it is actually edible?

The main lesson learned from this experience was not that broccoli rabe is the devil but that I have to taste food before serving it.  Always taste your food before serving it!!!  Avoid having to clean-up barf before you even get to your dinner!

Okay, now that I have probably sufficiently grossed you out (sorry, just wanted to warn you)…  I had every intention of grilling the Grilled Island Chicken but my grill wasn’t cooperating.  We only use charcoal around here and I have the lovely Weber with the little propane tank to aid in lighting the charcoal in a more timely manner.  Well, I was either out of propane or the lighter thingy needs to be replaced.  Anyhow, I wanted to get dinner done before taking boys to Tae Kwon Do so I went to plan B and threw it in my cast iron skillet.

Boss was already working the carrots for me on the stove, so no biggie. (I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that the boys like to help cook!! love it!)  This chicken recipe calls for lemon juice in the marinade.  Hubbs is not a fan of lemon (but he likes lemonade?  he’s weird) but I went with it.  I am wondering if cooking it in the skillet may have made it more lemony tasting then if it had been grilled???  Hey, I liked it!  But I am also in love with lemons.  So I would cut down on lemon a little next time for everyone else’s sake or maybe try it with lime!  It’s especially yummy with the carrots – they pair very well together in the same bite.  The carrots got rave reviews from Hubbs.  The kids weren’t so happy with them but they don’t really like cooked carrots.  I made them eat some raw baby carrots instead.  Oh and one more thing on the chicken, if you are GF, use a gluten-free soy sauce.

As you can see, I made some steamed (regular) broccoli instead of broccoli rabe.

Recipes:

Grilled Island Chicken

Honey Citrus Glazed Carrots

Leave a Reply

